

COURTESY RESOLUTION (SLIDE 1)

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our sincere thanks to all those involved in organizing, hosting, and participating in the 45th Convention of the Diocese of Alaska, "United in Christ, in the Interest of Others."

- BE IT RESOLVED that we thank the Bishop and the Bishop's staff for their effort and spirit of joy in organizing and planning this Convention. Bishop Mark Lattime; Canon Suzanne Krull; Lynnette Winfrey-Frank, Administrative Assistant; and Melissa Ward, the Bishop's Assistant, by their extraordinary effort and with the support of consultants, have made it possible for us to gather virtually to accomplish the work of Convention.
- BE IT RESOLVED that we express our thanks to Convention Officers for their work, and for their part in making the meetings run smoothly, including Chancellor and Parliamentarian Sarah Stanley, Roberts Rules Helper Peggy Fisher, Secretary Dee Ellen Grubbs, and Treasurer Rev. Marilyn Duggar.
- BE IT RESOLVED that we thank Convention Committee Chairs for their work to ensure a seamless path for conducting committee work, including the Rev. Katherine Hunt, Rev. Julie Platson, Judy Gau, Paul Williams, Jr., Rev. Michael Burke, Dee Ellen Grubbs, Rev. Chip Mills, Rev. Marilyn Duggar, Rev. Dawn Allen-Herron, and Rev. Lauran Pifke.



COURTESY RESOLUTION (SLIDE 2)

BE IT RESOLVED that we thankfully recognize the Standing Committee for their work throughout the year, and their leadership during these unusual times. Specifically, we thank those who are completing their service, Rev. Caroline Malseed, outgoing president; Bobby Dirks; and Rev. Bessie Titus.

- BE IT RESOLVED that we thankfully recognize the delegates who learned to use Zoom and appreciate their hard work in preparing for this unusual gathering.
- BE IT RESOLVED that we express our deep appreciation to the Right Reverend Mark Lattime for his address and for presiding at the Convention. We extend sincere thanks for his listening, insights, prayers, guidance, leadership, kindness, and sense of humor during this Convention, and throughout the year. We recognize that our bishop's planned sabbatical was postponed because of the 2020 pandemic, and we look forward to the time when he will be able to enjoy the refreshment of a sabbatical.
- BE IT RESOLVED that we thank leaders who have accepted nominations for committees and commissions for the coming year, including Al Alvarez, Bella Schjenken, and Austin Swan, Sr. (FIT Committee); Rev. Carrie Oktollik and Allan Hayton (COM); Adam Lees and Rev. Chip Mills (Disciplinary Board); Rev. Julie Platson, Austin Swan, Sr., and Rev. Betty Glover (Standing Committee).



COURTESY RESOLUTION (SLIDE 3)

BE IT RESOLVED that we thank all whose work and leadership make our Closing Eucharist possible, including the clergy, musicians, and staff of St. Mary's, Anchorage; readers Kaylee Nelson, Chele Bifelt, Bob Coghill, Jane McMillan Ginter, and Kris Green. We also thank the many musicians throughout the Diocese who contributed their voices to a Virtual Diocesan Choir, including Molly Buttars, piano and viola; Alex Cruver, compilation; and vocalists Anna Cometa, Andrea Gardner, Braydon Perrupato, Kyle Gantz, Christina Talbott-Clark, Joel Bolger, Rev. Judith Lethin, Patricia Hull, Nell Gustafson, Alice Rooney, Shastina Charlie, Mim McConnell, Barb Hameister, Jim Hameister, Rev. Gayle Nauska, Helen Howard, and Lena Simmons. Both their willingness to do this and their voices are inspiring.

- BE IT RESOLVED that we give thanks for those who are faithfully leading worship services and other ministries in congregations throughout the diocese. In particular, we recognize the many lay worship leaders who are leading in places where clergy are not available. Their committed service is a testimony to the ministry of all of the baptized.
- BE IT RESOLVED that we recognize the challenging context in which the ministries of our diocese have taken place this year. We give thanks for technologies available to us; for scientists, engineers, and technicians whose work has created these possibilities; and for herculean efforts of lay and ordained ministers to accomplish new ways of spreading the Gospel and working toward the restoration of all people to unity with God and each other.



COURTESY RESOLUTION (SLIDE 4)

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our deep appreciation for the work of those who have worked this year to mentor and guide new postulants and candidates: from the Interior Deanery, Helen Stafford, Judy Gau and Gary Shields; and from South Central Deanery, Ross McKay and Kris Green. We are grateful for the service of Commission on Ministry members who are completing their service: Rev. Elsa DeHart and Lorraine Pavlick. May the newly admitted postulants and candidates, through our prayers, continue to be guided by the Holy Spirit to faithful and reverent service.

BE IT RESOLVED that we send our condolences to the family of the Reverend Chuck Eddy who has joined the number of the Church Triumphant. We also remember all of those minsters, both lay and ordained, whose work continues within us, though they have departed from our midst this year.



COURTESY RESOLUTION (SLIDE 5)

BE IT RESOLVED that we grieve the many losses being experience as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Our hearts are heavy as we consider those who have died, the ongoing physical separation experienced, and the increased stress for families and households throughout the world. We recognize that the burden of this pandemic is not being shared equally but is borne most severely by the most vulnerable.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we express our sincere appreciation to the delegates, officers, and staff who gathered through Zoom in the Name of Jesus to do the work of the Church in this Convention. Above all we give thanks for the guidance of the Holy Spirit into the future of our Diocese, a future in which we are "united in Christ, in the interest of others."

> Submitted by the Courtesy Committee Rev. Dawn Allen-Herron Margie Adams Rev. Jim Brisson Rev. Dr. Anna Frank Kris Green