48th Diocesan Convention September 28 - September 30, 2023 Church of the Holy Trinity, Juneau

Positions open for election/nominations:

Commission on Ministry:

Arctic Coast Clergy position, APPOINTED Term: 3 year

Interior Lay position, APPOINTED Term: 3 year

Vocational Deacon position, APPOINTED Term: 3 year

Standing Committee:

Seat # 1: Arctic Coast Lay Term: Liturgical Year A, 2026

Seat # 2: Interior Clergy Term: Liturgical Year A, 2026

Seat # 3: Southeast Clergy position Term: Liturgical Year A, 2026

Disciplinary Board:

* No more than three (3) seats may be filled by people who live in the same Deanery.

Seat B: Lay position, not deanery specific Term: 5 year

FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:

Seat D: Clergy position, not deanery specific Term: 4 year

Episcopal Diocese of Alaska Diocesan Positions Currently Held, as of February 2023

		Name	Term Expires
Commission on Ministry:			
Arctic Coast	Clergy	The Rev. Carrie Oktollik	48th, 2023
	Lay	vacant	49th, 2024
Interior	Clergy	The Rev. Susan Mitchell	50th, 2025
	Lay	Allan Hayton	48th, 2023
South Central	, Clergy	, The Rev. Dawn Allen-Herron	, 49th, 2024
	Lay	Nell Gustafson	50th, 2025
Southeast	Clergy	The Rev. Jan Hotze	49th, 2024
	Lay	Michael Rowcroft	50th, 2025
Vocational Deacon	Clergy	The Rev. Barbara Zimmerman	48th, 2023
Standing Committee:			
Seat #1: Arctic Coast	_	Austin Swan, Sr.	19th Voor A 2022
Seat #1: Arctic Coast Seat #2: Interior	Lay Clergy	The Rev. Betty Glover	48th, Year A, 2023 48th, Year A, 2023
Seat #2: Interior	Clergy	The Rev. Julie Platson	48th, Year A, 2023
Seat #4: South Central			
	Lay	Sandy Solenberger	49th, Year B, 2024 49th, Year B, 2024
Seat #5: At Large Seat #6: Southeast	Appointee	Nancy Burke Michael Lukshin	49th, Year B, 2024
	Lay		
Seat #7: Arctic Coast	Clergy	The Rev. Enoch Adams, Jr.	50th, Year C, 2025
Seat #8: South Central	Clergy	The Rev. Lauran Pifke	50th, Year C, 2025
Seat #9: Interior	Lay	Judy Gau	50th, Year C, 2025
Disciplinary Board:			
Seat A:	Clergy	The Rev. Bessie Titus	52nd, 2027
Seat B:	Lay	Mary Alice McKeen	48th, 2023
Seat C:	Clergy	The Rev. Jan Hotze	49th, 2024
Seat D:	Lay	Chele Bifelt	50th, 2025
Seat E:	Clergy	The Rev. David Terwilliger	51st, 2026
Seat F:	Lay	Peggy Fisher	52nd, 2027
Seat G:	Clergy	The Rev. Marilyn Duggar	50th, 2025
FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:			
Seat A: Elected	Lay	Bella Schjenken	49th, 2024
Seat #1: Appointed		vacant	49th, 2024
Seat B: Elected	Clergy	The Rev. Wilson Valentine	50th, 2025
Seat #2: Appointed		Charlotte White	50th, 2025
Seat C: Elected	Lay	Maggie McKay	51st, 2026
Seat #3: Appointed		Loren Hill	51st, 2026
Seat D: Elected	Clergy	The Rev. Julie Platson	48th, 2023
	0.0.57		

The Episcopal Diocese of Alaska 48th Diocesan Convention Brief Committees Overview of those open for Election/Appointment

Commission on Ministry:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities</u>: Assist the bishop in matters pertaining to the needs for the Ordained Ministry including enlistment and selection of persons for the Ministry, and in the guidance and pastoral care of all Postulants and Candidates for Holy Orders, Deacons and Priests, administering examinations required by Canon for Ordination and continuing education. Assist the bishop in challenging, training, and providing continuing education of the Laity for its ministry.

<u>Commitment needed</u>: attend regular Zoom meetings (10-12 annually), receive and disburse documents via electronic methods, meet face to face for a 2-3 day meeting at least once a year. No member may at the same time be a member of the Standing Committee.

Standing Committee:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities</u>: Serve as a Council of Advice to the Bishop. Exercise Ecclesiastical Authority in the absence or disability of the Bishop. Act as the reviewing body in the selection, examination, and ordination of persons for Holy Orders. Advise and consent to the purchase, construction, encumbrance, and disposition of real property of the Diocese. Implement actions assigned by the Convention of the Diocese, including the regular review and oversight of the budget. <u>Commitment needed</u>: attend regular Zoom meetings (6-8 annually), receive and disburse documents via electronic methods (dropbox/email), meet face to face for a 2–3-day meeting two/three times a year. No member may at the same time be a member of the Commission on Ministry or Disciplinary Board.

Disciplinary Board:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities</u>: The Disciplinary Board handles complaints and cases of clergy misconduct and other matters set forth in Title IV of the Canons of the Episcopal Church including the Trial of any Priest or Deacon of the Diocese. <u>Commitment needed</u>: Be available to meet via Zoom/teleconference and/or in person should a case/need present itself. Unless there is an active case this committee typically does not meet. No member may at the same time be a member of the Standing Committee. No one serving the diocese as chancellor, vice-chancellor, advisor, conciliator, church attorney, intake officer or investigator may serve on the Disciplinary Board. No more than three (3) seats may be filled by people who live in the same Deanery.

FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities:</u> Oversee the on-going grants and operating budget funding provided by the FIT Endowment. Manage the granting process including distributing, advertising, and evaluating annual grant applications for the multiple grant cases. Review the spending allocation annually and make recommendations for approval to the Standing Committee.

<u>Commitment needed</u>: _attend regular one hour Zoom meetings (3-6 annually) , receive and disburse documents via electronic methods (dropbox/email), meet via Zoom for an all-day meeting or in-person for a 2-3 day meeting at least once a year.