## **Courtesy Resolution 2024**

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we express our sincere thanks to all those involved in organizing, hosting and participating in the 49<sup>th</sup> convention of the Diocese of Alaska.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thankfully recognize the congregation of All Saints in Anchorage, AK for their hard work in preparing for this large gathering. We thank Carol Batson who chaired the convention preparations, Judy DeVries, administrator of building, systems, parishioners and visitor operations, and Phil Lee who coordinated the transportation, and all the drivers and workers in the community.

Special thanks to everyone in the South Central Deanery who were responsible for the wonderful meals. We gratefully thank the kitchen team of Leslie Hepburn, Chair, Karen Saucier, Carolin Wells, Jane Jordan, and Matt DuFour, and the countless food donations and clean-up crew.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank the South Central Deanery and all the local churches, for their generous assistance.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank the Diocesan staff for their preparations and support of this Convention: Canon Suzanne Krull, Melissa Ward, and Lynnette Winfrey-Frank.

**BE IT RESOLVED** we express our deep appreciation to our bishop, the Right Reverend Mark Lattime for his address and for presiding at the Convention. We give thanks for his 14 years of ministry among us. We give thanks for his calmness, good humor, and pastoral service to all the people of the Diocese. Mahsi' Choo.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank our keynote speaker The Rev. Elizabeth Riley. We thank The Rev. Tom Brackett who, because of Hurricane Helene, was unable to attend; we thank The Rev. Gail Loken and The Rev. Jake Lambers who presented in his place. We thank The Right Reverend Jose McLoughlin from the Diocese of Western North Carolina who related the devastation caused by the hurricane and the ongoing search and recovery efforts. We offer our prayers for all affected by Hurricane Helene.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we express our thanks to Convention Officers for their work, and for their part in making the meeting run smoothly, including Parliamentarian Peg Fisher and Asst. Parliamentarian Chip Mills; Loyd Platson, Secretary, Gail Loken, Asst. Secretary, Marilyn Duggar, Treasurer, Sarah Stanley, Chancellor, and Historiographers Adam Lees and Jake Lambers; all the chairs and committees for making the meetings run smoothly.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank Convention Committee Chairs for their work to ensure a seamless path for conducting committee work, including Fred Hansen, Mary Norton, Michelle Bifelt, Mary Nathaniel, Ross McKay, Loyd Platson, Chip Mills, Marilyn Duggar, Judy Gau, and Lauran Pifke.

**BE IT RESOLVED** we thank all the singers and musicians for their inspirational music, Ken Saucier, volunteer and Altar Guild Director, and all those involved in leading and planning worship from the various Deaneries.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank leaders who have accepted nominations and appointments for committees and commissions for the coming year, including for the Commission on Ministry: Matt DuFour and Jan Hotze; Standing Committee: Maggie McKay, Nancy Burke, and Michael Lukshin; Disciplinary Board: Jan Hotze; FIT Committee: Alice Rooney, Ossie Knowlton, and Alice Holinger.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we thank those who have served on diocesan commissions and committees and whose term expires at end of this year's convention including for the Commission on Ministry: Dawn Allen-Herron and Jan Hotze; Standing Committee: Maggie McKay, Nancy Burke, Michael Lukshin; Disciplinary Board: Jan Hotze; FIT Committee: Bella Schjenken and Ossie Knowlton.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we are thankful for the witness and service of The Rev. Betty Glover and The Rev. John Holz who have resigned from active ministry. We pray for their continued service in Christ.

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we send our condolences to the families of The Rev. Robert Thwing, The Rev. Montie Slusher, The Rev. David Elsensohn, and The Rev. Jim Basinger who have joined the number of the Church Triumphant. We also remember all of those ministers, both lay and ordained, whose work continues within us, though they have departed from our midst this year. May they rest in peace and rise in glory.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that we express our sincere appreciation to the clergy, delegates, alternates, and visitors who gathered here in the Name of Jesus to do the work of the Church. Above all we give thanks for the guidance of the Holy Spirit into the future of our Diocese.

Submitted by the Courtesy Committee

Judy Gau Adam Lees Julie Platson Laura Bunnell Maggie Castellini