44th Diocesan Convention October 3- 6, 2019 St. Mary's, Anchorage

Positions open for election/nominations:

Commission on Ministry:

Interior Clergy position, APPOINTED

Term: 3 year

South Central Lay position, APPOINTED

Term: 3 year

Southeast Lay position, Elected

Term: 3 year

Standing Committee:

Seat # 1: Arctic Coast Lay position

Term: Liturgical Year A, 2020 (vacant term, due to resignation)

Seat #7: Arctic Coast Clergy position

Term: Liturgical Year C, 2022

Seat #8: South Central Clergy position

Term: Liturgical Year C, 2022

Seat #9: Interior Lay position Term: Liturgical Year C, 2022

Disciplinary Board:

Seat C: Clergy position, not deanery specific

Term: 5 year

FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:

Seat D: Clergy position, not deanery specific

Term: 4 year

General Convention Deputies:

Each Deanery shall Nominate (2) Clergy & (2) Lay Full Delegation - 4 Clergy & 4 Lay -elected at Convention Baltimore, Maryland; June 30 - July 9, 2021

St. Simeon and St. Anna

Nominated by local Congregation/Church affirmed by deanery in prayer Crosses paid by local Chruch/congregation (\$25)

44th Diocesan Convention October 3-6, 2019

Positions open for election/nominations:

Deanery Nominations, as of August 13, 2019

Arctic Coast Deanery	Interior Deanery	South Central Deanery	Southeast Deanery
Meeting: June 27-29	Meeting: April 11-13	Meeting: April 27	Meeting: May 2- 5
Commission on Ministry: none	Commission on Ministry: Clergy: Appointed	Commission on Ministry: Lay: Appointed	Commission on Ministry: Lay: Michael Rowcroft
Standing Committee: Clergy: Mary Norton	Standing Committee: Lay: Mabel Vent	Standing Committee: Clergy: Lauren Pifke	Standing Committee: none
Disciplinary Board:	Disciplinary Board:	Disciplinary Board:	Disciplinary Board:
Clergy:	Clergy:	Clergy:	Clergy:
<u>FIT:</u>	<u>FIT:</u>	FIT:	<u>FIT:</u>
Clergy:	Clergy:	Clergy:	Clergy: Julie Platson
General Convention Deputies:	General Convention Deputies:	General Convention Deputies:	General Convention Deputies:
Lay: (2)	Lay: (2)	Lay: (2)	Lay: (2)
Robert Dirks	Florence Folger	Al Alvarez	Dan Hall
Janet Mitchell	Tom Marsh	Adam Lees	Loyd Platson
Clergy: (2)	Clergy: (2)	Clergy: (2)	Clergy: (2)
Enoch Adams, Jr	Teresa Thomas	Michael Burke	Julie Platson
Mary Norton	Bessie Titus	Elsa DeHart	Caroline Malseed

^{*} These are the nominations from the deaneries. Nominations are also accepted at convention.

		Name	Term Expires	
Commission on Mini	istry:			
Arctic Coast	Clergy	The Rev. Carrie Oktollik	45th, 2020	
	Lay	Ella Lisbourne	46th, 2021	
Interior	Clergy	The Rev. Marilyn Duggar	44th, 2019	
	Lay	Lorraine Pavlick	45th, 2020	
South Central	Clergy	The Rev. Dawn Allen-Herron	46th, 2021	
	Lay	Sarah Stanley	44th, 2019	
Southeast	Clergy	The Rev. Gordon Blue	46th, 2021	
	Lay	vacant	44th, 2019	
Vocational Deacon	Clergy	The Rev. Elsa Dehart	45th, 2020	
Standing Committee	<u>:</u>			
Seat #1: Arctic Coast	Lay	vacant, due to resignation	45th, Year A, 2020	
Seat #2: Interior	Clergy	The Rev. Bessie Titus	45th, Year A, 2020	
Seat #3: Southeast	Clergy	The Rev. Caroline Malseed	45th, Year A, 2020	
Seat #4: South Central	Lay	Peg Fisher	46th, Year B, 2021	
Seat #5: At Large	Appointee	Dan Hall	46th, Year B, 2021	
Seat #6: Southeast	Lay	Bob Coghill, Jr	46th, Year B, 2021	
Seat #7: Arctic Coast	Clergy	The Rev. Mary Norton	44th, Year C, 2019	
Seat #8: South Central	Clergy	The Rev. Ann Whitney	44th, Year C, 2019	
Seat #9: Interior	Lay	Mabel Vent	44th, Year C, 2019	
Disciplinary Board:				
Seat A:	Clergy	The Rev. Dawn Allen-Herron	47th, 2022	
Seat B:	Lay	Mary Alice McKeen	48th, 2023	
Seat C:	Clergy	The Rev. Gordon Blue	44th, 2019	
Seat D:	Lay	Milton Bryner, Jr.	45th, 2020	
Seat E:	Clergy	The Rev. Gayle Nauska	46th, 2021	
Seat F:	Lay	William "Sky" Stemmons	47th, 2022	
Seat G:	Clergy	The Rev. Wallace "Chip" Mills	45th, 2020	
FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:				
Seat A: Elected	Lay	Bella Schjenken	45th, 2020	
Seat #1: Appointed		Ron Moore	45th, 2020	
Seat B: Elected	Clergy	The Rev. Wilson Valentine	46th, 2021	
Seat #2: Appointed		Alice Holinger	46th, 2021	
Seat C: Elected	Lay	Maggie McKay	47th, 2022	
Seat #3: Appointed		Mary Norton	47th, 2022	
Seat D: Elected	Clergy	The Rev. Julie Platson	44th, 2019	

The Episcopal Diocese of Alaska 44th Diocesan Convention

Brief Committees Overview of those open for Election/Appointment

Commission on Ministry:

Summary of Responsibilities: Assist the bishop in matters pertaining to the needs for the Ordained Ministry including enlistment and selection of persons for the Ministry, and in the guidance and pastoral care of all Postulants and Candidates for Holy Orders, Deacons and Priests, administering examinations required by Canon for Ordination and continuing education. Assist the bishop in challenging, training, and providing continuing education of the Laity for its ministry.

Commitment needed: attend regular teleconference (10-12 annually), receive and disburse documents (preferably electronically), meet face to face for a 2-3 day meeting at least once a year.

Standing Committee:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities</u>: Serve as a Council of Advice to the Bishop. Exercise Ecclesiastical Authority in the absence or disability of the Bishop. Act as the reviewing body in the selection, examination, and ordination of persons for Holy Orders. Advise and consent to the purchase, construction, encumbrance, and disposition of real property of the Diocese. Implement actions assigned by the Convention of the Diocese, including the regular review and oversight of the budget. <u>Commitment needed</u>: attend regular teleconference (6-8 annually), receive and disburse documents (preferably electronically), meet face to face for a 2-3 day meeting two/three times a year.

Disciplinary Board:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities</u>: The Disciplinary Board handles complaints and cases of clergy misconduct and other matters set forth in Title IV of the Canons of the Episcopal Church including the Trial of any Priest or Deacon of the Diocese.

<u>Commitment needed</u>: Be available to meet via teleconference and/or in person should a case/need present itself. Unless there is an active case this committee typically does not meet.

FIT (Faith Into Tomorrow Endowment) Committee:

<u>Summary of Responsibilities:</u> Oversee the on-going grants and operating budget funding provided by the FIT Endowment. Manage the granting process including distributing, advertising, and evaluating annual grant applications for the multiple grant cases. Review the spending allocation annually and make recommendations for approval to the Standing Committee.

<u>Commitment needed</u>: _attend regular teleconference (4-6 annually) , receive and disburse documents (preferably electronically), meet face to face for a 2-3 day meeting at least once a year.

General Convention Deputies:

Summary of Responsibilities: Provide representation for the Episcopal Diocese of Alaska to the General Convention of The Episcopal Church. General Convention is held once every 3 years, with a gathering of deputies and bishops throughout the Episcopal Church. Each diocese is entitled to a deputation of 4 Clergy and 4 Lay. Deputies are voting members of the House of Deputies. They discuss, debate, pray and vote on matters, including resolutions, motions, canonical changes and other such issues brought before the House of Deputies.

<u>Commitment needed</u>: attend regular teleconferences prior to General Convention, review all preconvention material, join the Deputy email list serve (optional), travel to and attend General Convention which is held at a site in the lower 48 in the summer for **12-14 days** once every 3 years. In 2021 it will be in Baltimore, Maryland, June 30th- July 9th, 2021.