

COURTESY RESOLUTION OF THE 46TH CONVENTION

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our sincere thanks to all those involved in organizing, hosting, and participating in the 46^h Convention of the Diocese of Alaska, "Can God set a table in the Wilderness?"

BE IT RESOLVED that we thankfully recognize the Bishop and the Bishop's staff for their effort and spirit of joy in organizing and planning this Convention. Bishop Mark Lattime; Canon Suzanne Krull; Lynnette Winfrey-Frank, Administrative Assistant; and Melissa Ward, the Bishop's Assistant, by their extraordinary effort and with the support of consultants, James Kruger and Chris Stein of ACTS Group, who have made it possible for us to gather virtually for a second year to accomplish the work of Convention. Furthermore, we offer sincere gratitude for the efforts put forth by their encouragement and diligence to ensure virtual or phone access for all Deaneries.

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our thanks to Convention Officers for their work, and for their part in making the meetings run smoothly, including Chancellor and Parliamentarian Sarah Stanley; Assistant Parliamentarian, Peggy Fisher; Secretary, Dee Ellen Grubbs; and Treasurer, the Rev. Marilyn Duggar.

BE IT RESOLVED that we thank Convention Committee Chairs for their work to ensure a seamless path for conducting committee work, including Maggie McKay, Rev. Julie Platson, John Holtz, Paul Williams, Jr., Rev. Michael Burke, Dee Ellen Grubbs, Rev. Chip Mills, Rev. Marilyn Duggar, Kaylee Fischer, and Rev. Lauran Pifke.



COURTESY RESOLUTION OF THE **46TH** CONVENTION (PG **2**)

BE IT RESOLVED that we give thanks to our Convention Committees for their resilience in meeting virtually throughout the week. We recognize the Dispatch of Business, Bishop's Address, Nominations, Prayer, Resolutions, Minutes Review, Constitutions & Canons, Budget, Courtesy and Next Convention Committees.

BE IT RESOLVED that we thankfully recognize the Standing Committee for their work and leadership throughout the year, and their prayerful decisions regarding the Society of St. Simeon and St. Anna. We also thank those who are completing their service, Peggy Fisher, President; Bob Coghill, and Dan Hall.

BE IT RESOLVED that we thankfully recognize all delegates who have continued throughout these past 18 months to expand their use and knowledge of zoom and virtual platforms.

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our deep appreciation to the Right Reverend Mark Lattime for his address to us and for presiding at the Convention. We extend sincere thanks for his listening, insights, prayers, guidance, leadership, kindness, and sense of humor during this Convention, and throughout the year. We give thanks for his gentle challenge to us of a new way of thinking about ministering models. We recognize that our bishop's planned sabbatical was postponed due to the pandemic, and we wish blessings upon him for his sabbatical in the spring of 2022.

BE IT RESOLVED that we thank our keynote speaker, The Rev. Canon Lydia Kelsey Bucklin, for sharing her time, wisdom and illuminating passion.



COURTESY RESOLUTION OF THE 46TH CONVENTION (PG 3)

BE IT RESOLVED that we thank leaders who have accepted nominations for committees and commissions for the coming year, including for the Commission on Ministry: Rev. Dawn Allen- Heron; Standing Committee: Sandy Solenberger, Alice Holinger, Nancy Burke, Don McConachie; Disciplinary Board: Rev. Jan Hotze, Michele Bifelt, Rev. David Terwilliger, Rev. Bessie Titus, Rev. Marilyn Duggar; FIT Committee: Rev. Caroline Malseed and Rev. Wilson Valentine.

BE IT RESOLVED that we thank all whose work and leadership make our Closing "Virtual" Eucharist possible for the Diocese. Furthermore, we thank Paul Williams, Jr. for leading us in song and prayer throughout this convention and for the ministry of the Convention Prayer Committee.

BE IT RESOLVED that we give thanks for those who are faithfully leading worship services and other ministries in congregations throughout the diocese. In particular, we recognize the many lay worship leaders who are leading in places where clergy are not available. Their committed service is a testimony to the ministry of all the baptized.

BE IT RESOLVED that we express our deep appreciation for those who have worked to mentor and guide new postulants and candidates. We are grateful for the service of the Commission on Ministry throughout the year and during this Convention for their guidance and direction in our small group discussions.

BE IT RESOLVED that we send our condolences to the families of the Rev. Larry Spannagel, Rev. Dean Mandrell, Rev. Ginny Doctor, Rev. Andy Fairfield (2/20), who has joined the number of the Church Triumphant. We also remember all of those ministers, both lay and ordained, whose work continues within us, though they have departed from our midst this year. May they rest in peace and rise in glory.



COURTESY RESOLUTION OF THE 46TH CONVENTION (PG 4)

BE IT RESOLVED that we grieve the many losses being experienced as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Our hearts are heavy as we consider those who have died, the ongoing physical separation experienced, and the increased stress for families and households throughout the world. We recognize that the burden of this pandemic is not being shared equally but is borne most severely by those most vulnerable.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we express our deepest appreciation for the development of the Resolution of Support for the Work of Truth and Reconciliation by the Whole Episcopal Church and its History of Boarding Schools for Alaska Native, Native American and Indigenous People. We give thanks to the Resolution Committee for the opportunity of truth telling during this week of convention.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we express our sincere appreciation to the delegates, officers, and staff who gathered through Zoom in the Name of Jesus to do the work of the Church in this Convention. Above all we give thanks for the guidance of the Holy Spirit into the future of our Diocese, where, YES, God sets the table in the wilderness.

Submitted by the Courtesy Committee Kaylee Fischer, Chair Maria Byford Mary Nathaniel Sandy Solenberger Katherine Hunt